A letter for my brother 

 

IMG_1584

✌🏿️🙏🏿

Did you know that I’ve been blogging for almost four years? 

Probably not. Both because I blog so sporadically it must be hard to keep track and because I don’t really talk bout it.

There’s a lot I don’t really talk about on this blog. Whenever some weird or embarrassing situation befalls me, I always remember to write it down. But the other stuff, the good and positive things that make my life worthwhile, tend to slip through the cracks.

Case in point: Did you know that I have a brother? Maybe you did if you’ve been reading for a couple years or if you know me personally (which, let’s face it: the vast majority of the people who read my blog are friends who I’ve somehow tricked into paying attention to me). But I do. I have a brother, and his name is David.

David is nineteen years old. He likes music, learning new things and entertaining people. He’s pretty cool. A LOT cooler than me, if you think “Performing concerts to raise money for those in need” is cooler than “Almost getting into a fist fight one time because some rando mistook you for another black girl”. Which you very well might.

He graduated high school last year and is still trying to figure out life in the ~*Real World*~. In honor of National Sibling Day (which I KNOW was a couple of days ago) I have decided to write him this letter:

Hi, David!

Let’s get right to the point: 2015 was a trash year (we can both agree on that, right? Your agreement is a necessary component of this letter). It was just horrible in every way. Much like myself, all of 2015’s inclinations were to badness; every time it was given the opportunity to straighten itself out and correct its course, it made a sudden turn and veered into some new horror.

Like I said: Trash.

But who cares about that! We are finally free of 2015’s cold embrace, and it’s time to act like it. 2015 was a decidedly terrible year for our family, but 2016 is different, and we cannot punish it for the previous year’s mistakes. 2016 is limitless-yes, I realize that we are already in the middle of April, but that’s still eight good months!

So what are you gonna do with them? 

I realize that that isn’t really a fair question, especially coming from me, a person who has basically spent the last four months scrolling down various news feeds and avoiding responsibility, but I’m asking it anyway. Mainly because I believe in you.

I believe that you can do anything that you want to do. I believe that truly and deeply, from the bottom of my heart. Like the year 2016, you are full of so much potential and the ability to see it through. So much of it that it almost makes me a little jealous, but then I remember how great you are and feel happy for you instead.

So I ask again: what are you gonna do? But while I ask that question, I also want to emphasize the point that there is no rush. You’re only nineteen, after all. But this is the prime time to figure out what you love and experiment with it, whether it’s photography or business, and find out what fits you best. Otherwise, you might end up accidentally going to school for nursing for three years only to randomly switch to teaching in the middle of your junior year. Basically, what I’m saying is don’t be like me.

But do take my advice! Tons of people read my blog looking for advice! Well, not for advice so much as tales of shame…

Regardless.

You’ll always be my little brother (Because you’re younger, we’re related, and you’re a boy), and I love ya! Happy (belated) National Sibling Day! 

Kiana

 

What do you think?

