One of those Lives

Me, basically. (source)

Me, basically. (source)

Here is a list of things I did wrong today:

  • Instead of studying for the huge chemistry test that is lurking in my horizon, I stayed up into the wee hours of the night watching T.V. At first, I told myself that it would only take a few minutes out of my study time to watch a couple episodes and then I’d get back to work. But as the hours went by, I fell deeper and deeper into the Netflix vortex. I kept trying to convince myself that I would stop, that eventually, maturity and common sense would take over and compel me to study, but it was not meant to be. Eventually, I just gave up the act and dived head-first into Gilmore Girls season four.
  • Because I went to bed so late, I overslept and missed my psychology class. I also have a psychology test waiting for me around the corner, so this was a great time for my laziness to take over!
  • Because I was in such a rush to get to school in time, I forgot my English homework on my desk. When I got to class, I frantically flipped through my folder looking for it, but it was nowhere to be found. Because our whole class period was going to be dedicated to going over the assignment, I decided to quietly slink out of the classroom rather than announce to everyone the mistake I had made. And by “quietly slink” I mean “awkwardly stumble over several chairs and a trashcan on my way out the door”.
  • Then I went to Chemistry. That actually wasn’t that bad.

This is usually the point where I’d say that I’m having ‘One of those Days”. At this point, however, I think it would be more appropriate to describe it as “One of those lives”. I’ve always been the kind of person who starts out extremely enthusiastic about something, only to watch all of my determination fade away like the morning dew. I want to care more about all of my responsibilities, I want to be more dedicated to my goals, but it’s all so hard sometimes (and yes, I am aware of how whiny that sounds).

I used to think that there was some magical formula to getting it all together, that if you followed a few surefire steps, all of the puzzle pieces in your life would just fall into place. The older I get, the better I understand: There is no secret to getting it all right. You just have to do the work. There is no other option; if you want to succeed in the real world and accomplish all of your goals, you just have to sit down and get to it. That’s what being an adult is all about.

Of course, that is easier said than done. And if my Netflix queue is any indication, I won’t be accomplishing it today. But I think that’s okay: I may have dropped the ball today, but tomorrow I’ll work towards accomplishing all of my goals!

Probably! Maybe! Most likely not! I’ll…get to it eventually.

We’re more than half way through February. I turn twenty in May. Before I reach that age, I’d like my life to at least have some semblance of respectability.

I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me.

Kiana.

6 thoughts on “One of those Lives

  1. deecrowseer says:

    Sadly I’m in a similar boat right now, having just bought a new (to me) computer game, which is sapping away all my time and ambition! I tell myself it’s “research”, because it’s a Fantasy RPG and I’m writing Fantasy comics… but it’s also an “open world” game, which means it never actually ends, and I’ll never be able to “complete” it. Ack! Thankfully, the quests are getting harder and fiddlier now, and my frustrated brain is turning back towards my script again…

  2. Adi, the Happy Lifeaholic says:

    haha you sound completely like me. I’m 21 and my life is still completely topsy turvy! I have finals next week and I, too, stayed up till the wee hours of the morning watching tv! :p

What do you think?

