Brave

I am currently going to school to become a nurse. I’m not officially in the program yet, but this is my last semester of generals. After that, I’ll be battling over 600 other people for a seat. They only accept 72 people every semester, which is definitely more than a little stressful, but I’m trying not to think about that too much. I can only control myself; everything else is out of my hands. As long as I know that I did everything in my power to do well, I won’t let myself get discouraged, even if I don’t get into the program right away.

It’s weird, though: when I first decided to become a nurse, it didn’t feel completely real. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do, the school needed an answer, so I just picked nursing. I’d thought about it as a possibility before, but in that moment, it was really more of a means to an end than an actual decision.

But the closer I get to applying for the program, the more confident I feel. Videos like this reaffirm my decision to go into the healthcare field. True, it will definitely not be a easy road to get there, and once I am actually accepted into the program I will have to start working harder than ever, but I’m determined to succeed. Being a nurse is about caring for others; it’s about taking someone at one of the most difficult points in their life and doing everything in your power to make sure they get overcome it. Being a nurse is about love.

I can’t wait to be a part of that.

Kiana.

10 thoughts on “Brave

  1. ashleyshaffner says:

    Omg I couldn’t even imagine battling over 600 people for a seat in a 72 person program! I commend you for going for your goal and I’m sure if you study enough and work hard you’ll get one of those seats!! Best of luck ❤️

    • mebeki says:

      Thank you for your encouraging words! People who have been through the program already tell me this all the time. I try to remember it the every time I get stressed out about a big test 🙂

    • mebeki says:

      Aww, thank you Kani :’) That’s such a nice thing to say. And thank you for the support! If I wasn’t already sure that this is what I wanted to do, I’m sure now 🙂

      Do you have a blog at all? I’d love to check it out if you do!

  2. deecrowseer says:

    As a former/future patient (and the son of a midwife), it’s reassuring to know that there are still so many young people eager to pursue a career in nursing… and I’m glad that the profession is attracting candidates as positive and compassionate as yourself! More power to you, I say!

    • mebeki says:

      Thank you so much There are definitely moment when things get unnecessarily difficult and I have to remind that this is a worthwhile career, but imma keep going for it!

  3. barborapalovcikova says:

    Obviously, I dont know you, but can I just say it feels like you would make a great nurse. Of course, what is most important is your confidence that you made the right choice. Also, good luck!!x
    (btw, idk why but I just thought you were a writing student???? weird).

    • mebeki says:

      Well, I take as many writing classes as I can and I’ve written about them more than my nursing stuff, so that’s probably why. I was considering trying to pursue a double major at first, but then I realized just how difficult/ridiculous that would be. So if I ever do want to just hardcore devote myself to writing, that will be after I become a nurse.

      Anyyyyway, thank you! I HOPE that I’ll be a good enough nurse. I guess we’ll find out soon!

What do you think?

