A Valentine’s Day PSA

Film Title: BRIDGET JONES : THE EDGE OF REASON.

Bridget Jones: Prime example that it pays to step your game up. (source)

Editor’s Note: I originally wanted to put this up on Valentine’s Day, but I decided to hold in the cynicism until the day after. Here are a few thoughts I have about dating today:

There are few things that upset me more than a young person, especially a young woman, bending over backwards, trying to make a bad relationship work. Every time I spy a young couple arguing in the corridors of my school or one of my friends plops down next to me to tell me about what their boyfriend has done this time, I feel my soul begin to scream; it starts (as it always does) as a low moan within my heart. Soon enough, though, it crescendos into a bellowing roar, filling my entire being.

“Oh, my God,” I respond on cue, “He is being such a jerk.” I say all the right words, but unbeknownst to them, I have disconnected from the conversation. I know that this sounds selfish, but I just can’t help it. It makes me physically sick to hear tales about all the new and exciting way that my friends are being taken advantage of. It makes me wanna roll up on their house at night TO FIGHT leave a firmly worded letter under their door because I am not athletic and even if I was, there’s really never a good reason to kick your friend’s significant other in the neck.

True, both men and women can find themselves trapped inside an unhealthy relationship, but I think that you’ll all agree that when it comes to all the manipulative and cruel turns a relationship can take, women often find themselves with the worse end of the stick. At least, that has been the case in my experience. And no, I’m not suggesting that we turn the tables and start mentally and physically abusing/ruining men’s lives, but I am proposing that women start stepping their game up.

Look: Women have a buyer’s market when it comes to dating. That’s how it’s been for a long time, and that it will probably be for the foreseeable future. There is no reason to saddle yourself to someone who is mean and makes you feel small, just because you feel like you won’t find anything better. Trust me: YOU WILL. No matter who you are, or what you look like, there is someone out there who is feelin’ it. There is someone out there who would gladly sweep you off your feet and be the kind of person you deserve.

To quote a Tumblr post I saw the other day: Boys are abundant and low in value (Well, the post’s language was a bit more NSFW. But you get the idea). Never let the fear of either being alone or losing an awful boyfriend hold you back from getting what you deserve.

Kiana.

9 thoughts on “A Valentine’s Day PSA

  1. barborapalovcikova says:

    AMEN. 🙏🙏🙏 (the praying hands emoji I dont know if it’s visible,3 times,’cause that’s what’s up). “No matter who you are, or what you look like,there is someone out there who is feelin’ it.” –I’m feelin’ the need to print this out and stick it to my wall to me looked onto when at my worst.

  2. babyruthbeer says:

    I’ve never been in a relationship. And I don’t know when I’ll be in one. So I can’t speak for myself right now. But when my friends talk about love and boys, I say what I think. I say what I feel I’ll do if I was on that relationship. But until now I wonder how I’ll be like when I really got into one.

    • mebeki says:

      Well, then you’re a lot better off than me, haha 🙂 I TRY to tell them, but I’m always afraid of how they’ll react/that I’ll hurt their feelings. I’m trying to overcome this, though, because I’m sure any friend of mine would prefer being annoyed with me for a bit over me not really telling them what I think. Thanks for the comment!

What do you think?

