What I Did When I Wasn’t Here- September/October

So. It’s been a while. For that, I apologize. But my time away from my blog wasn’t spent in vain- nay! I spent my month away from writing taking the world by storm, having exciting new adventures, and getting myself into some pretty uncomfortable situations. Here’s what I did when I wasn’t here:


I started a new job! I work as a cashier for a popular retail store. I was a bit nervous at first because my first two experiences in the workforce didn’t go very well, but so far everything’s been great! Apparently, I am an excellent scanner- I can move things across the belt with both speed and dexterity, and even fit in an awesome conversation with the customer as I go.

Of course, because I am me, there have also been some pretty awful interactions, as well. One time, a man reached out to me to get his change and I got confused and grabbed his hand, locking our fingers in a tight embrace. This only lasted for about two seconds, but the memory still haunts me to this day. Also, I keep trying to engage in conversations about sports with people, even though I have no knowledge whatsoever about anything athletic. That always goes about as well as you’d expect.

But still, most of the time everything runs smoothly. It feels good to not suck at my job for once. Three cheers for being a useful member of society!


Sometimes, I feel like my entire life is like the black and white portion of an infomercial.

Case in point: The other day, I got into an accident with a parked car. The car was positioned normally, not crooked or anything, and yet I somehow managed to crash into it with enough force to leave a large scratch along the side. I kept trying to reverse out of the spot, only to feel another hard thump as my bumper connected with the other car again. My dad sat in the passenger seat, his eyes wide in disbelief, yelling, “Turn the wheel, Kiana. YOU HAVE TO TURN THE WHEEL.” This went on for about three minutes, until the owner of the car came rushing out of the store she was in.

“What are you DOING?” She exclaimed. I don’t know ma’am. I just don’t know.


I’ve always had a soft spot for animals, but sometime over the last couple months, my love for dogs completely overtook my life. I’ll be sitting in the car, listening to one of my family members talk, when I’ll spot one in the corner of my eye: Tail wagging in the air, eyes full of curiosity, taking, tiny, purposeful steps on the sidewalk. My immediate reaction is always the same, no matter the breed: What a noble beast. I’ll stare at the dog for as long as I can, until it is nothing but an adorable speck in the distance. Then, I’ll snap back into reality and realize I haven’t heard anything my mother has said in the last five minutes.

It’s even starting to effect my work. Whenever I see someone buying a bag of dog food, I can’t help but blurt out, “WHAT KIND OF DOG DO YOU HAVE,” my eyes crazed.The other day, someone came through my lane with a seeing eye dog and I got so excited, I accidentally rang the owner up for forty three bananas.

…there’s no real resolution to this story. I just wanted to talk about it.


Last, but certainly not least, I was able to see one of my favorite people in the world, Kaitlin. The last time I’d seen her was almost a year ago, when she cam home for Thanksgiving break. I have to admit, I was a little nervous to see Kaitlin after such a long period of time; while we were apart, her coolness had intensified to monumental heights, while I have spent hours upon hours in the dark, watching Gilmore Girls on Netflix. I was afraid that I would no longer measure up.

Thankfully, all my fears were for naught. While I am decidedly less hip than Kaitlin is, we still had a lovely time full of shopping, laughter, and friendship. Here are some pictures of us embracing. It’s what the people wanted. (Also: Kaitlin has an awesome blog called HeyPoofy. Think about all the time you’ve spent not reading her blog, and then reevaluate your life.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Welp, those were the highlights. Here’s to many more adventures in November- may none of them be even vaguely dog related!

Kiana.

3 thoughts on “What I Did When I Wasn’t Here- September/October

What do you think?

