Dog With A Blog (And Also My Heart)

It was the middle of February. The harsh winter wind was thrashing against the house, causing my windows to shiver and shake in protest. Despite the fact that it felt like the whole world was wrapped in winter’s sharp embrace, my room felt like a sauna. My mother was vehemently opposed to using the heat during the winter (“What do you need the heat for? To warm up your unused sweaters?”), so my brother had gotten into the habit of sneaking out of his room in the dead of night and cranking up the heat. Under normal circumstances, this would have been a good thing, but my family was one of extremes: While my mother wanted nothing to do with heat during winter, my brother cranked it up to eighty five degrees. As a result, I would often wake up in the middle of the night feeling like I was covered in magma.

On this particular night, however, I was awoken by something else: My brother’s loud, booming laugh was echoing through the house. I quickly kept out of my bed and charged down the stairs, preparing for battle, but when I saw the source of his laughter, I stopped dead in my tracks. It was a talking dog. And he was blogging!

Dog With A Blog is an amazing television show on Disney Channel that follows the everyday adventures in Avery Jenning’s home. At first, Avery is at odds with her family: Her mother has recently gotten remarried, dragging a new step-father and two new step-sibblings into her life. In a last ditch effort to bring the family together, Avery’s parents adopt a dog named Stan, hoping that they can all bond over their mutual affection for canines.

Little do they know, STAN CAN TALK! The children discover his secret and vow to take it with them to their graves. Naturally, many wacky shenanigans ensue, and (also naturally) Stan captures every second of it on his blog.

Before I go any farther, I feel like I should address something: Yes, I am aware that I am not the target audience for Dog With A Blog. When the creators of DWAB sat down together to create a television show, I’m sure that they weren’t racking their brains trying to find a new and exciting way of cornering the 19-year-old-antisocial-black-girl market. Still, something about the show speaks to me. Perhaps it is the underlying message that if you put your mind to it, it’s possible to accomplish even the most far-fetched of dreams. Or maybe it’s just the general amusement that comes from watching a dog type.

Whatever the reason, I’m hooked! Dog with a Blog is the best thing that’s ever happened to me. And I can’t be the only one who thinks so, because DWAB is up for an Emmy! Now we all have the honor of being able to say the phrase, “The Emmy Nominated Dog With A Blog” with a straight face.

When you consider the other shows that are on Disney right now (Ex. Jessie or Ant Farm), Dog with a Blog is a refreshing change. No longer are we forced to watch the same-old boring high school drama- Nay!Β now we get to watch a dog struggle to reach his desired word count.

Really, my only problem with Dog with a Blog is that he doesn’t blog enough. Far too much time is spent dealing with the Jenning’s family issues and trying to teach the audience valuable lessons. The only lesson that this show has taught me is that I am very willing to spend both time and money on a franchise all about a CGI dog that only occasionally blogs. Too willing, perhaps.

Nevertheless, when Dog with a Blog inevitably hits the big screen, I will be the first in line. I can only hope, dear reader, that you will be in line beside me. In the meantime, new episodes of Dog With a Blog are airing regularly on the Disney Channel. I think that I’ve given a pretty convincing argument in favor of the show, but just in case you need any more reason to give Dog with a Blog a chance, I will leave you with this image of Stan the dog rolling his eyes:

*Shudder* (Source)

*Shudder* (Source)

Kiana.

What do you think?

