WE R WHO WE R

Do you mind if I rant? I’m gonna rant.

I am a religious person. Today, when people hear those words, it can draw some seriously negative images to mind. People have done awful things in the name of religion; they’ve hurt and killed people, forgotten everything they ever learned about their religious teachings, all in the name of some “greater cause”. I realize all of that, but I think that when people positively define what religion means for themselves, it can be a force for good in their lives.

To me, being religious means having a belief in God in a way that conveys respect to him (or her) and also enriches my life without interfering with the lives of others. While religion is important in my life, I know that not everyone feels the same. And I think that’s great! I feel truly lucky to live in a time and a place where I can choose what to believe in, and others can do the same for themselves. I operate under the general philosophy that I can do whatever I want, and so can every other human being in the world, and I will never judge them for their actions.

…Unless they are the Westboro Baptist Church.

By now, I’m sure that all of you are familiar with the church’s shenanigans, but if not, allow me to enlighten you: The Westboro Baptist Church is a hate organization hiding behind the name of God in order to spread their horrible message. Whenever I hear about the latest awful plan on their agenda, I feel sick. They remind me of a quote that I read in the Diary of Frederick Douglass. I can’t remember exactly how it went, but to paraphrase, it was something like this:

I have been a slave for a lot of different people, and one thing I have learned is that it is the most religious people that make the cruelest masters.

He also said, "Don't name-drop me in blog posts. It's pretentious."

He also said, “Don’t name-drop me in blog posts. It’s pretentious.” (source)

Nowhere can this be seen more clearly than in the Westboro Baptist Church. Think I’m being harsh? Watch this video:

Yep. That is a parody of the popular Ke$ha song “We R Who We R”. This gem has been hanging around the internet for two years, but it is just now gaining the interest of the media. Why? Because The church recently decided to spread God’s message of peace and love by screaming the lyrics outside of a Ke$ha concert in Nebraska. You know, like horrible human beings.

Normally, I wouldn’t even consider writing anything about the church. After all, why give them more press than they already have? I was driven to write about this not just because of my disgust for the group, but for the pure perfection that is Ke$ha’s response. There are a lot of ways the situation could have been handled. Perhaps this isn’t the most “mature” one, but I think that it is by far the best:

Though I’m sure that none of this will put a damper on the church’s mood (in fact, it will probably just fuel their rage) I’m glad it was done. Someone needs to do something to stop them, to show them and people like them that they cannot force their hate on others. Also?

#Hipthrustsforever! 

Kiana.

2 thoughts on “WE R WHO WE R

What do you think?

