Conversation With My Mother (Part Two)

Image

“Why do you smile like that?” my mom asked after seeing this picture.

Fade in:

Int. Small urban house located in Detroit. Day. It’s raining and the sky is dark, but KIANA sits on a kitchen table, gazing out of the window waiting for her family members to wake up and join her. A crack of lighting shoots down from the heavens, illuminating all its surroundings. KIANA yawns loudly, closing her eyes in the process. When she opens them, MOTHER is standing before her, her hands on her hip. 

KIANA

Good morning, mom! Are you hungry? I made-

MOTHER

What do you plan on doing with your life?

Kiana sits silently for a moment, trying to decide the best way to answer her mother’s demand.

KIANA

Only time will tell!

Mother’s facial expression, once unreadable, curls into a menacing scowl.

MOTHER

I’m serious, Kiana.

KIANA

So am I. I don’t know…I’ll figure it all out. Eventually.

Mother sighs and rubs her temples in a manner capable only of parents of future homeless people.

MOM 

I just want you to be successful. I want you to choose a suitable career path. And DON’T  say writing. You will not be a writer.

KIANA

Mom, SO MANY people are professional writers and do just fine! Like…like…Oscar Wilde!

MOTHER 

OSCAR WILDE HAD SYPHILIS!

The word “syphilis” echos throughout the room, driving the point home.

KIANA

Okay. Bad example.

MOTHER

Kiana, I wish you’d stop chasing silly dreams. Oh! I know! You could be a doctor!

KIANA

I can’t be a doctor, mom.

MOTHER

I don’t see why not! My co-worker’s silly daughter is pre-med. If she can do it, you can, too.

Kiana raises a glass of orange juice to her lips, drinking slowly. She sets the glass back down on the table and it makes a faint clinking noise against the wood.

KIANA

Well…technically, we’re all pre-med.

Mother sighs once more and leaves the room, leaving Kiana to eat her bacon in peace. 

Kiana.

4 thoughts on “Conversation With My Mother (Part Two)

  1. Alex says:

    I definitely think you have what it takes to make it as a writer. Don’t let your dreams be deterred! I read your blog when I feel depressed and your words lift me out of the pit. You really are very skilled with the English language Kiana, pursue your dreams!

What do you think?

