But Wait! There’s more!

So, I think you need a short story to understand a little more about who I am.

When I was in fifth grade, my usually warm and kind-hearted teacher Mrs.Poppa angrily dismissed me from class. As I packed my desk with all of my stray pencils, I could feel her angry eyes burning holes into my back. After I had finished my task, I began to walk out of the class room. The door was really only a couple feet from my desk, but at that moment, it felt a mile away.

What, you ask, was the crime that warranted such a punishment?

I had been singing the song “Savages” from Disney’s Pocahontas.

I was particularly fond of the Native American part. Here’s an excerpt:

“This is what we feared!
The paleface is a demon,
The only thing they feel at all is greed!
Beneath that milky hide,
There’s emptiness inside!
I wonder if they even bleed?”

Yep. This is what I sang loudly in front of my entire all-white class. Mrs.Poppa thought I was a racist, and made sure to tell my parents so at conferences.

Awks. Yeah. These are the things that I do.

*Sigh*,

Kiana.

4 thoughts on “But Wait! There’s more!

  1. Alex, Jarl of the Utternorth says:

    Something like that happened to me. My awkward run-ins with race have been unfortunately frequent.

What do you think?

